Call for Papers


BANEA 6-8th January 2016

University of Wales, Trinity Saint David Lampeter

The Schools of Archaeology History, and Anthropology and Classics are pleased to be hosting BANEA 2016 at Lampeter (UWTSD).

We invite abstracts for papers exploring the theme of Land, Sea and Sky in the Near East from earliest human occupation to the twenty-first century. We welcome contributions from a wide range of disciplines and interests, which variously explore land-, sea- and sky-scapes in the region, drawing on the myriad ways in which this region has been shaped, experienced, contested and entangled in people's lives, their social interactions and their cosmologies.

Plenary session: Current Research in the Near East
Papers discussing ongoing fieldwork projects, excavation, survey, ethnographies, material studies, environmental studies, postgraduate and postdoctoral research all located within the Near East.


Posters


If you would like to display a poster, please submit an abstract of around 100-words on our dedicated page. The deadline for submission of your abstract is October 31st 2015.

Panels and Workshops


We are also accepting papers for the following Panels:

Contesting Spaces in the Near East
Dr Louise Steel, l.steel@banea2016.org

Liminal Spaces - Transitions between Land, Sea & Sky in the Ancient Near East
Cheryl Hart, C.Hart@banea2016.org

Multi-Layered Towns and Urban Archaeology in the Near East
Dr. Burak BELGE, burak.belge@gmail.com

Sacred Nature & Structuring the Sacred: Constructing and Re-Writing Sacred Landscapes in the Ancient Near East
Dr Ralph Haussler, r.haussler@uwtsd.ac.uk

Skyscapes - Human relationships with the sky in Near Eastern culture
Dr Nicholas Campion, n.campion@uwtsd.ac.uk & Dr Bernadette Brady, b.brady@uwtsd.ac.uk

Vibrant Materialisms in the Ancient Near East
Eloise Govier, e.a.govier@gmail.com

The deadline for submission of your abstract is October 31st 2015.

For further information please contact:











Website by the Sophia Centre